People you should get to know: Courtney Forster

rgj

courtney

(Photo Credit)

WHAT WORK EXPERIENCES LED TO YOUR CURRENT POSITION?

I first began working for Gunderson Law Firm over summer break in college. It gave me a very realistic idea of what the practice of law entails — it’s definitely not like what you see on TV.

WHY DO I DO WHAT I DO

For me, being a lawyer is about being able to help people who can’t otherwise help themselves. A lawsuit can be a very scary and stressful thing for a person to go through, and I love being able to help people navigate that situation.

WHAT BROUGHT ME TO RENO, OR WHY I STAY IN RENO

I grew up in Reno, but I moved away for college and law school. After being gone for seven years, I realized that Reno was one of the best places to live in the country. We have all four seasons, easy access to the outdoors and a big-town spirit with a small-town feel.

WHAT I DO TO LEAVE WORK AT THE OFFICE

Making sure I don’t take work home with me was one of the biggest challenges I had starting out as a lawyer. I had many sleepless nights thinking about my cases and clients. Now, I have two separate phones, a work phone and a personal phone, and I make sure not to check the work phone after about 6:30 each night.

HOW I GIVE BACK TO MY COMMUNITY

I’ve been on the board of the Crisis Call Center since 2009, and I was just elected board president for my second term. I love the work we do at the center; we help so many people in the community through programs like our crisis lines, 211 and Sexual Assault Support Services.

BEST BUSINESS BOOK I’VE READ LATELY

I have to admit, I don’t read business books. It’s part of the way I separate my home and work lives. The best book I read recently was the “Count of Monte Cristo”; it’s a classic and a lot of fun.

BEST PLACE IN RENO TO MEET WITH CLIENTS OR COLLEAGUES

Brasserie St. James. I always want to support local businesses, and their menu is fantastic.

MY LEADERSHIP PHILOSOPHY

You can’t ask people to do something that you aren’t willing to do yourself. Before becoming a lawyer, I worked every job at my firm — photocopying, running errands, you name it. It gives me a much better understanding of how everyone in the office fits together.

NOTABLE ACHIEVEMENTS

I was chosen as a Top 20 Under 40 by the Reno Gazette-Journal and Young Professionals Network this year, which is a huge honor. I’ve also been voted a Legal Elite (top 35 lawyers in Northern Nevada) for the past two years, and I was voted one of the best lawyers in Reno by the Reno News & Review this year.

IF I COULD DO SOMETHING ELSE, I WOULD …

I’d love to be an English literature professor. I was an English major in college, and I wouldn’t mind spending all my time reading and talking about literature.

To view the original article on RGJ.com, click here.

Leave a Reply

